Story 3: The Boy Who Cried Boy

Source: Flickr.com
Standard

Brittany from the UNSW Queer Collective writes about her personal experience of going to the female toilets at the Royal Easter Show.

When I was 14, I had really short hair. I was using the bathroom at the Royal Easter Show that was really crowded, and a little kid yelled out, “Mum! mum! There’s a boy in the girls bathroom!”, pointing at me. :/ It made me feel bad to be accused of not belonging there and that I was infiltrating other peoples spaces, and that this little kid was taught to associate my hair length with my gender.

Leave a Reply

